VWcms displays, edits and stores its content as HTML (XHTML in fact).
Each section shown in the table of content (to the left of this text) is composed and maintained as a relatively autonomous unit of information. The various sections of the site can be (hyper-) linked between, providing an alternate way to navigate through the content.
When logged-in as a site manager the Manage Site navigation item opens one of two supported HTML editors, TinyMCE or FCKeditor, at the section currently being viewed. The editor allows content composition using a WYSIWYG interface, much like a simple word processor. Among other capabilities these provide
Both editors can be concurrently supported with user selection available at the management interface.
The site management interface / edit window can repositioned in the browser window by clicking on the bar at the top of the interface (a move cursor is displayed) and then dragging to another position. Clicking again releases the interface. The [X] icon at the top right can be used to close the interface and return to site view mode.
Below the editor are a number of additional, VWcms content selectors and buttons.
Within these controls are three important buttons:
Draft content is visible only to a logged-in manager. It is used to modify site content to a satisfactory level before publishing it to the public site. The draft persists over login-logout cycles and so may be used to retain in-progress modifications over the medium term before making them live. Using appropriately often during changes helps guarantee against significant loss.
Once published any existing draft is not automatically deleted. The draft remains available as an alert and for further modification until explictly deleted using the button.
VWcms tracks editing changes to content and other site files and alerts the manager if the edit is about to be lost by navigating away from the editor without saving those changes. Changes may be discarded by continuing. Inadvertant loss can be avoided be by cancelling the alert, saving the changes appropriately and then recommencing the navigation.
Do not attempt to navigate backwards (using browser button or dialog) into an edit session. It has been noted that commonly the edit session may have the appearance of containing the previous changes but when saved they are actually absent. This appears to be a browser behaviour.